Whole Wheat Pumpkin Muffins

January 15, 2009

Mt. Muffin

Mt. Muffin

Also adapted, more seriously, from Pinch My Salt.    These muffins are my go-to snack during the week.  I like to think that because they’re whole wheat, they must be healthy, although, since I’m too lazy to butter my muffins, I just put all the butter in the batter.  I’ll bake a full batch and then freeze most of them.  After 30 seconds in the microwave and 5 minutes in a warm(200-ish degrees) oven, they’re as good as new.  Then I wrap them in foil and take them to school for an afternoon snack.

Makes 24 large muffins.

Recipe

Preheat oven to 375F and prep 24 muffin tins – either with muffin papers or Pam.

Dry ingredients – just mix together in medium sized bowl

  • 5 cups whole wheat flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp cloves
  • 5 tbsp buttermilk powder(optional)

Wet – stir together in large bowl

  • 1 can pumpkin
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/3 cup milk
  • 1 stick melted butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla

After combining the two(don’t stir too much), stir in

  • 1 cup coarsely chopped nuts(I use walnuts)
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Fill up the muffin cups and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the muffins spring back  when poked.

(for my mom – these muffins have 35 carbs each)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

